Douglas County Receives $2M in Housing Grants

State Grants Application

Douglas County has received a $2 million grant to assist low- to moderate-income households in purchasing or repairing their houses. On Thursday, March 10, Governor Tony Evers announced the Community Development Block Grant grant from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development. 

“These programs are a critical piece of expanding safe housing and stability for many Wisconsin residents,” said DOA Secretary-designee Kathy Blumenfeld. “We’re proud to continue working with our regional and local partners on the Community Development Block Grant program.”

Find out if you qualify for these programs here

Wisconsin‘s CDBG Small Cities Home Program, which is administered by the Wisconsin Department of Administration, offers biannual housing restoration monies to seven regions. This year’s funds total more than $17.2 million for these regional housing initiatives, which offer zero-interest, deferred-payment loans to low- and moderate-income families for down purchase help or to undertake needed repairs. The Northwest Regional Planning Commission administers the funds on behalf of Douglas County to people who live in Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, and Washburn counties.

“For so many hardworking Wisconsinites across our state, homeownership is a measure of personal success and growth for their families,” Evers said in a news release. “It’s a tool that helps them put down roots, find financial stability, and build generational wealth for those who come after them. By helping folks buy homes or make important repairs to their current homes, these grants will help more families and individuals have a safe place that they are proud to call home.”

For more information on getting a grant and also learning about refinance programs, access our database & search engine here.

Regional CDBG Housing awards were made across the state, totaling $17,250,000, including:

  • $2 million in Douglas County in the Northwest Housing Region;
  • $3 million in Langlade County in the Northwoods Housing Region;
  • $3 million in Juneau County in the Central Housing Region;
  • $2.5 million in Columbia County in the Southern Housing Region;
  • $1.7 million in Brown County in the Northeast Housing Region;
  • $2.5 million in La Crosse County in the Southwest Housing Region; and
  • $2.5 million in Chippewa County in the West Central Housing Region.

For more information about programs available, contact housing development specialist Kimberly Gifford at 715-635-2197 or

Christopher Charles spent 6 years in the mortgage industry before moving into the world of digital media. He's helped thousands of families buy and refinance real estate at banks and mortgage companies and now continues that mission through industry-leading content. Chris is known for his expertise in the mortgage & real estate industry and continues to produce content all over the web.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *